Posted by: Nyxks | August 27, 2008

Spirit Herbs

Spirit Herbs
by Amy “Moonlady” Martin © 2008
Moonlady Publications
pdf book  [Hardcopy coming soon]
73 pages
$12.00 (U.S.)
Reviewed by: Mike Gleason

As I have remarked in previous reviews, I am not a big fan of e-books, since I lack the portable devices for reading them and either have to chain myself to a computer or print out copies to read, so I don’t forget to do the review. In this case the author was kind enough to print out a copy and send it to me. I am a big fan of putting books I have reviewed on my library shelves, which is one reason I am glad that this book is coming out as a “real book” in the near future.

While I don’t agree with all her recommendations about tools to use (I am a purist in a lot of ways and dislike the idea of a metal mortar and pestle), I have no disagreements with her safety recommendations or the techniques for use that she puts forward. She is practical and that counts for a lot, in my opinion.

She provides two systems of measurement for each recipe she gives – by volume [tablespoons/cups] and as “parts” of the whole, which makes it convenient for those who are mathematically challenged. And her recipes include smudges, offerings, element evokers, inhalants and immersants. She explains the differences among these types of uses for those who are unfamiliar with them.

She provides basic data on more than 60 herbs and lists a few books and websites for further information. It is not a comprehensive source of information, but it is a useful, basic start.

Leave a Reply

Categories

